Through my eyes

There are many things that I can say that I am passionate about. If I had to pick one it would definitely be my family. Our family is very close, I am engaged to my wife who I have been with for 8 years. We have four kids together, she has two boys ages 23 and 19 and I have two girls ages 15 and 9. Our oldest just got married and our 19yr old is a manager at CVS. The 15yr old will be a sophomore at Fairmont Highschool this year in all honors classes and our star baseball player is going into fourth grade at Southdale Elementary. Being a mom is the single most stressful and yet most rewarding job I have ever had. It’s also the most important. As moms, we are responsible for taking these young children and molding them into responsible, compasionate, dedicated, hard working and functioning adults. There are many moments I question my antics and wonder if I am doing a good job or if I am going to fail, but they find ways of reminding me amidst it all they do hear me. Like when our 19-year-old son says he loves me or thank you when you do something for him and finally he doesn’t just expect it. Or the moment our youngest gave us an entire candy jar filled with reasons she loves my wife and I. I have to say the most rewarding is when one of them shows empathy or compassion. For instance, our two youngest girls rarely get along. one day we went to the gas station and there was a boy standing outside and his two friends had gone in to get slushies, they told him they didn’t have enough money to get him one. Not only was he sad but even worse I believe he had some form of autism. My daughter was hurt by this she knew I only had enough money to get her and her sister a slushy but she gave hers to this little boy anyway and the smile on his face was so contagious it became a smile on all of our faces. when we got in the car much to my surprise I turned around to see both the girls sharing the slushy the older one had. seeing as how this never happens again I was elated. It’s the little things that remind me of how much I love being their mom!

Leave a Reply

